I Made a Child Because I Ran Out of Funny

The Cos knew it.

Galifianakis sure had something to say about it.

Ferrell could write a how-to guide for it. (Seriously. I would be the first in line to buy it.)

Hey, there’s no denying it. Kids are funny. They really do say the darnedest things (especially when you’re writing the script–ZING!!)! I discovered this about a year and a half ago, and I’ve been trying to exploit, er…enjoy the rich and delicious blend of kids and funny ever since. It’s so much easier than making my own grown-up funny.

One problem: Where do you find the kids?

Well, sit down there on that log, son, and I’ll tell you. It just so happened that I was doing a production of Christmas Carol a year and a half ago. And what does Christmas Carol have, aside from one heartwarming and noble truth? That’s right! Cratchits! Kids o’ plenty! I immediately saw a future comedy genius in little Tiny Tim. He had a great audition, a sassy smile, and his mom brought a giant bag of M&Ms and a picture of a dinosaur to the shoot. HIRED!!

A few weeks earlier, I had met the man who would (later) become my husband and (slightly later than later) father to my son (oops, I ruined the punchline). Kris and I shared a love for making our combined powers of funny even funnier by using fresh, young talent. We were like sketch comedy vampires! We had crossed oceans of time just to make youtube videos! And guess what? Bonus was, Kris had already made a child and already made her funny!

So, we went ahead and got married. But that wasn’t enough, see? We needed more material. More kids equals more funny!!! Right, Bill Murray?

So, after doing some stuff and waiting and doing some other stuff and yelling, Benjamin Prometheus Stoker was born on May 12th at 12:17 in the wee bitty slice of a rainy morning.

(I am writing this with one hand Ben is asleep on me. He just started farting. A lot. Big noisy ones. Does this kid know from funny or what?)

Kris and I have been a bit tired these past few weeks, not sleeping much, getting pooped and farted on, removing umbilical cords and learning how to knit, but pretty soon this family will be selling a show to Comedy Central. It will be called “Get Stoked!”, and we’ll have a sassy maid and a wacky neighbor and we’ll have to adopt a new baby in about five years when Ben isn’t so tiny.

Until then, here’s something to hold you over! Remember: we made him for your enjoyment!

Our secret to success? UNITARDS!!!!

6 responses

  1. sabrinav

    BTW, if anyone can find the puzzle of my face in all these links, I will buy him or her a slice of pizza and let him or her take a picture with my baby. Well, a cardboard cutout of my baby, but it’s very lifelike.

    June 1, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  2. graylex

    CUT! PRINT! Whether performing as a bunraku puppet or a sleeping b-boy, that kid’s got RANGE!

    I’d like to audition for the wacky neighbor in “Get Stoked!” – either that or I’ll play the wacky superintendent/ love interest, “Schneider.” (What? It’s been done?)

    Also, all the videos YouTube recommended as being “related” to your Hey Ladies homage were of kittens and baby chimps. Maybe we can save those for when your show jumps the shark.

    June 2, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  3. sabrinav

    Alex, you have already been cast as the neighbor AND as “Schneider,” my wacky cousin from a made-up country in Eastern Europe. You will have to wear a wig and a mustache to play “Schneider,” of course.

    We had to cut the “Hey Ladies” video clip short so that Children Services wouldn’t come and pick up Ben. Poor little Alex P. Keaton.

    June 8, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  4. sabrinav

    Here is a longer version of “Hey babies.” Come get us, coppers!

    June 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  5. Perfect post, I truly anticipate up-dates from you.

    July 1, 2011 at 8:21 am

  6. sabrinav

    Thanks, Lisabeth! You are the Lee to my Tenacious D!

    July 12, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Leave a comment